Arkansas Driver's Ed Rules

Learn the Arkansas requirements for obtaining your learner's permit and driver's license. Then register for driver ed at our Arkansas state-approved driving school today.

Graduated Driver's License

The Graduated Driver License program was developed to allow teens to safely gain driving experience before obtaining full driving privileges. This law provides for teen driver's licenses in three levels:

Learner's License
Ages 14-15 The Arkansas State Police (ASP) handles all Arkansas permit and license issuance. To apply for your permit, you'll need to make an appointment at the nearest ASP testing office.

  • You must bring the appropriate documentation with you to your ASP appointment.
  • You must pass the vision and knowledge test to obtain your learner's permit.

Once you have your Arkansas learners permit, you can learn to drive. You can't do this on your own, though; you must be accompanied by a licensed passenger age 21 years or older. That passenger must be seated in the front seat next to you at all times. Remember that while you're doing your behind-the-wheel training, you and your passenger must wear your seat belts at all times, and you are not allowed to use a mobile phone or wireless device while driving, except to report an emergency.

Intermediate License
Ages 16-17 You are eligible for an intermediate license if you've held a learner's license for six months with no serious traffic violations or at-fault accidents. Once you have your intermediate license, you must follow these rules:

  • No cell phone or other interactive wireless communication device use while driving.
  • No more than one unrelated minor passenger is allowed unless there is an adult 21 years of age or older in the front passenger seat of the car. An unrelated minor passenger is a person under 21 years old who is not a sibling, step-sibling, or child who lives in the same household as the driver.
  • No driving between 11 p.m. and 4 a.m. unless accompanied by a passenger 21 years of age or older, driving to or from a school activity, church-related activity, or a job.

Unrestricted/Regular License
Ages 18+ You can apply for a driver's license once you have held your intermediate license with a clean driving record for one year. You can now use hands-free communications while driving, but hand-held cell phones may only be used during an emergency.